International Women’s Day

Standard

Last Friday on International Women’s Day I started thinking about what I thought about the day and what it really means. I’m still not really sure what I think of the day, highlighting something for just one day which needs to be a consideration all the time unsettles me yet if because of the day someone gains a better understanding of women’s issues surely that is a good thing. I was reading an article only today in Nature discussing how science is still institutionally sexist. and for me at least when I think about these issues more deeply I’m worried that equality is at a status quo.

I would describe myself as a feminist, no I don’t hate men or have hairy armpits I like shoes, do take a pride in my appearance and like to bake, but I can be all of those things and still be a feminist. When I was first thinking about what feminism meant a few years ago I didn’t really know how to gain any information to help put my thoughts about it into context and guide me. I tried reading ‘the Female Eunach’ and for me it wasn’t accessible then I tried going to a local feminist group, but again it was not for me, at the time it seemed too academically focused and I felt I didn’t really connect with what they were saying there. What I found was a really good starting point was a book that I was given for Christmas by a friend, Caitlin Moran’s ‘How to be a Woman’. For me this book put  the issues and debates surrounding feminism into something I could really understand, relate to and actually get angry about.

I’m not against fashion, baking or lifestyle blogs, I love them all, but I can’t help thinking that these places can be used as a space to discuss ideas on gender whilst educating and empowering. By no means am I suggesting people change the direction of their blog and for most it may be out of place to put in random posts about feminism. But if someone reading this post thinks about things regarding gender inequality more deeply or reads an article or picks up a book about it then in some way passes that message forward then I think that can only be a good thing. I have no idea what to do next regarding this, but do feel ready to learn and educate myself more.

2 responses »

  1. Hi Fee, one of my ambitions in the new millennium was to re-address feminism which I think was hijacked by militants in the 80s to such an extent that your average woman returned resignedly to the hoovering. Things haven’t moved forwards since then and there needs to be discussion right now. For me personally being a feminist is necessarily exclusive and fraught with weirdness (witness the surreal Pussy Riot case). I would like to hear other people’s views. I need to read C. Moran. My question is this – can one be a feminist and still love men? And can men love feminists?

    • Hey Julie,
      Thanks for the considered reply, good to hear from you as I appear to have lost you on FB.

      I’m a fairly optimistic person so think the answer to both of those questions can be yes.

      But your right more discussion needs to be had and how to translate all of this discussion into action needs to happen, but how?

Leave a Reply

