Olive Bread

Standard

The other day I had a massive craving for olive bread, I think largely because a work colleague had been discussing buying a bread making machine at work and deciding on a model to get.  By the time I got home I couldn’t handle it anymore and started making bread. Olives have always been a bit marmite for me I used to thoroughly hate them and would refuse them if offered, but recently I’ve been indulging in them if they are around and I’m getting a liking for them, especially the green ones.

The recipe I used was an adapted Paul Hollywood (the king of bread) one. I personally feel bread is best made when you have a long night ahead of you or a lazy day in front of you as the preparation, risings and cooking of it do take a bit of time. I was up till past 11pm making mine, but it was well worth it. Feel free to experiment with this recipe and add extra bits to it like fresh herbs, garlic or sunblush tomatoes.

pic 1mixing olivesolive bread

Olive Bread Recipe
500g strong white flour
15g salt
55ml olive oil
7g instant yeast
275ml water
170g green olives

Mix all ingredients aside from the olives together in a bowl, make sure salt and yeast aren’t in contact with each other.

Knead well until the dough is elastic and shiny, leave for an hour to rise, as my house is really cold I had to leave it for a bit longer, but roughly until the dough has doubled in size.

Once risen divide the dough and mix in the olives.

Shape the dough into two round shapes (big baps), sprinkle with flour and leave to rise on a baking tray for another hour.

Bake for 30 minutes at 220C/425F/Gas mark 7.

Devour immediately.

Leave a Reply

