Amaretto Cupcakes

Standard

My favourite time to bake is late at night. I like to have a full belly and a calm, empty house, so I can get my baking mojo on and make yummy treats. Often this is combined with last minute ‘I really should make something’ baking. Last weekend was my odd (yes, odd) daughter’s naming ceremony, so I had to make something a bit special. I’ve had my eye on these Amaretto cupcakes from the ‘Cupcakes From the Primrose Bakery’ book for a while, so thought ‘why not’. As it was very late when I was making these I only have one picture of the cupcakes, but let me assure you these were lovely. The next picture of my friend Becky eating hers shows that I think. Enjoy.

amaretto cupcakes

20130131-221615.jpg

For the cakes:
110g unsalted butter
180g caster sugar
2 large eggs
125g self-raising flour
120g plain flour
125ml semi-skimmed milk
1 teaspoon Amaretto

For the Amaretto syrup:
125g caster sugar
125ml water
1 teaspoon Amaretto

For the icing
115g unsalted butter
60ml semi-skimmed milk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
500g icing sugar
2 teaspoons Amaretto

Preheat the oven to Gas Mark 4/180 °C and line a cupcake tin with cases.

Cream the butter and sugar together until light and fluffy. Add the eggs one at a time mixing well.

Sift the two types of flour into a separate bowl.

In a jug mix the milk and amaretto together.

Add one third of the flour to the eggs and sugar mix, folding it in. Then add one third of the milk mix and beat. Repeat this process until all the flour and milk is mixed in and you have a smooth mix.

Add your mix into the cases, adding 2/3 into each case. You should get around 12 cupcakes. Pop in the oven for around 25 minutes, you can test when they are ready by popping in a skewer, if it comes out clean they are ready.

You can make the syrup while the cakes are cooling mix the water, amaretto and caster sugar together in a saucepan. Place the pan over the lowest heat until all the sugar has disappeared. You will now have a runny clear syrup. You can also do this in the microwave, whichever you prefer. When the cakes are cool you can dip them in this mix. I then left it over night before icing them, but it’s up to you.

For the icing, mix together the butter, amaretto, milk, vanilla extract and half of the icing sugar in a bowl. Beat the mixture until nice and smooth. Gradually add the rest of the icing sugar until it is the thickness you prefer. I would recommend always sieving your icing sugar.

Next whack on the icing, you can either pipe this on, you can get some really nice effects doing this. I’ve seen a lot of these cupcakes piped with a ‘rose’ effect, which you can achieve by using a Wilton 1B nozzle. Or you can do what I did and just a palette knife.

Leave a Reply

